Chennai student is IVI Essilor Optometry Wizard 2022


Chennai student is IVI Essilor Optometry Wizard 2022

IVI Essilor Optometry Wizard of the Year 2022 national quiz prize winners with IVI CEO Vinod Daniel & Nandhini

Bhuvaneshwari Ganesan from Vasan Institute of Ophthalmology and Research, Chennai has won the IVI Essilor Optometry Wizard of 2022 prize - India Vision Institute's national quiz for professionals and students in eye care with support from Essilor India Pvt Ltd.


Bhuvaneshwari came first in a keenly-contested and exciting finals on July 29. Reshma Mera Shaikh of MGM School of Biomedical Sciences, Navi Mumbai and Roselin Kiruba A from The Sankara Nethralaya Academy, Chennai, were declared the First and Second Runner-Up respectively.


Finalists at the quiz included Shyamala G, Sankara Nethralaya, Chennai and Diwakar Rao, Vittala International Institute of Ophthalmology, Bengaluru.


IVI's CEO Vinod Daniel said "the Optometry Wizard of the Year national quiz, a popular event in the Optometry calendar nationally, aims to create eye care awareness among professionals, students and the broader public." 


“The excitement and the spirit of healthy competition among participants was encouraging to see," he added. 


Ms Anantha Lakshmi, Head, Education & Professional Services at Essilor Group, witnessing the event online, encouraged the participants.


The contestants entered the final round of the quiz following their successful participation in two previous qualifying rounds. 


The finals also included four rounds for the audience. Twelve audience participants won prizes. 

The national quiz, launched in 2015 and supported by Essilor Vision India Pvt Ltd, has had a good response to date. Over 1,000 participants, including educators, optometrists and students, have taken part in the competition since its inception.

Previous years’ winners include Vigneshwar A G, Freelance Optometrist (2021), Jogendra Rathor, Chief Optometrist at Clear Vision Eye Hospital, Ahmedabad (2020), Ms Mehal P. Rathore (2018) of Sankara Netralaya and Ms Mousumi Saikia of Amity University (2016).